Grenfell Historic Properties
St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Summer|| Daily (8am - 5pm)
Winter|| Mon-Fri (8am - 5pm)
Phone||709.454.4010
info@grenfell-properties.com
Subscribe to our E-newsletter
  • 1.jpg
  • 10.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg
  • 9.jpg


Expression of Interest
EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST GRENFELL DOCK The Grenfell Historical Society invites expressions of interest from businesses/individuals who may be interested in operating a tour boat enterprise from the Grenfell dock for the 2018 tourist season. The facility includes access to parking, electricity, washroom facilities and office space/ticket booth. The facility is adjacent to the Grenfell Interpretation Centre which provides a built in marketability option for a tourism venture. For further details and a list of specifications please contact: Grenfell Historical Society P. O. Box 93 St. Anthony, NL A0K 4S0 Phone: (709) 454-4010 E-mail: manager@grenfell-properties.com
Posted: May 15, 2017 11:26 am NFLD time


Grenfell Interpretation Centre
Experience the spectacular legacy of Dr. Wilfred Grenfell, featuring many exhibits.
Grenfell House Museum
Explore the historic home of Dr. Grenfell & his family. A truly amazing journey into the past.
Grenfell Handicrafts Store
Browse an extensive selection
of handicrafts & souvenirs.
Many items locally produced.
Hike the Tea House Hill Trail
One of Dr. Grenfell's favourite activies. The trail offers you spectacular scenery & beauty.
Grenfell Park & Dock Facility
The dock services yachts and acts as a drop-off point for tourists. A great place to relax.
Spectacular Boat Tours
Northland Discovery Boat Tours offer incredible iceberg, whale
& scenery tours.
Sir Grenfell, Comic Book Hero
The harrowing tale of survival in 1908 northern Newfoundland translates into comic book form.

About Grenfell House Museum

The Grenfell House, Newfoundland home to Dr. Grenfell and his wife and three children - was built between 1909 and 1910. Based on a New England design, the architects were Ash & Sons of Carbonear, Newfoundland.

The house has seen many changes throughout it's history with rooms and chimneys being added and taken away. Originally, standing alone on the hill, the house became known as the 'castle' with flower beds and vegetable gardens. Now taken over by wildflowers and shaded by trees, it offers a quiet welcome to visitors from all over world.

After Grenfell's retirement to Vermont, the house became a residence for mission workers. In 1978, the Grenfell House and surrounding land were turned over to the newly formed Grenfell Historical Society.

Up to 1981, extensive restoration was made to the building before opened to the public as a small museum. Further restoration was made to the interior of the Grenfell House Museum between 1995-96.

In 1986, the Grenfell House was designated a Registered Heritage Structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador. [View details]




Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube Channel
Operated by the Sir Wilfred Thomason Grenfell Historical Society  |  A not-for-profit, registered Canadian Charity.
Helpful Links
Town of St. Anthony
Viking Trail Tourism
Provincial Tourism
Heritage Foundation
Website Administration
Hours Administration
Unsubscribe
Glacier Cove Designs
© Copyright 2017
AtlanticPortal.com

Atlantic Canada's Trip Planning Resource Website
• Your definitive website for exploring things do do, places to visit, dining, events - and so much more.
• Featuring Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.
• Learn about advertising opportunities that reach an audience of millions.